Impact of community-based projects

I’m currently looking at ways of measuring and reporting on the impact of community-based projects from a funders perspective, and would be interested to know how different funders approach this problem. Particularly when projects are so different and there is not a standard method.

Hi, I am not an expert on Evaluation, but I do know that we have an entire Evaluation Framework, which can be accessed here: https://evaluationframework.sportengland.org/ and might be useful?

Historically for our standard funding programmes, we have established targets for a number of individual ‘Participants’, asking for some additional demographic info (age categories, gender, BAME, Dis/Ability). We then also set a ‘Throughput’ target (i.e. the number of times people walk through a door to take part in activity). We call these ‘Measures’ and our awardees are expected to report back on these targets over a set period of time, the frequency and length dependent on the funding programme. Some of our programmes will just ask for one measure, others ask for both (usually dependent on whether the award is for capital work or revenue funding).

Over time we have found it quite cumbersome to obtain returns from awardees, especially with our capital programmes who will have had all of their funding paid up front and the reporting then only begins after the facility is open; therefore the incentive to return a report is not there and we have to do quite a bit of manual chasing.